Kagyu Samye Ling: A little piece of Tibet in Scotland

Oh may what a beautiful place, and all those Nagas and Naginis in pools of water, wonderful. Also the lineage of the place is of he 17th Karmapa, Ogyen Trinley Dorje, who i just love and adore, truly a Lama for this time, both educated in the old ways and yet totally modern. He will carry Tibetan Buddhism to its next phase in the west even more than the blessed Dalai Lama, and he is sooo young, yet wise. Thanks for this post and i have to reblog this so TY again Lenora.

The Haunted Palace

Wat Po Thailand, image by Lenora Wat Po Thailand

A number of years ago (more that I care to remember) Miss Jessel and I had the good fortune to go traveling around the world for a year.  Our peregrinations took us from the familiarity of the Classical world as expressed in the temples and architecture of Greece, Turkey and Israel, to what was for us at that time the less explored and more ‘exotic’ world of Asia.

I recall being captivated by the fantastical temples of Thailand, India and Nepal.  The shapes, colours and fantastical beasts and carvings. These structures made a lasting impression on me in a way that the safe and over-familiar iconography and structures of European Christianity did not.

One of my regrets was that at the time my budget would not extend to a trek from Nepal to Tibet, little did I know that many years later I would find a small…

View original post 517 more words