Of Sorrow and Witch Bones…

My comments – I was recently gifted with a box of feathers that a very nice spiritual man and handyman gave me from when he was a cross country trucker and would find birds killed along the road. He stopped his big rig and picked them up and blessed them in their death and salted them down and now they are mine to share with some friends who have Native blood in them. I had to look up the word Deipnon and did not realize such a Hekate practice existed so when i reblog this i will put in a link to the Wiki of that word and practice. So many critters killed by cars and such i have not been able to rescue, but have their bones. One cat has been buried since spring in the old fallen “Bear Oak Tree” red mulch and will be exhumed and honoured soon. We are the acolytes and priest/esses of Anubis so this is what we do….. Thank you for doing what you do.

thepurplebroom

In the hushed silence of the room, with only enough light to see my hands, I dance.  The candle light is glinting off of my arms and touching the tips of the feathers in my fingers. The warmth in the circle is comforting; the night is ice and frost, but in this circle I am blanketed with the softness and warmth of the spirits.

The avian spirits perch just out of my eyesight’s reach. The hint of  winged forms is outlined in the curve of my cornea. The shadowy presence buzzes with energy as old as the stars. It is tonight I make my wish…

I bind spells and charms into the barbs and rachis. I kiss the soft arc of the vane with whispers and I tie the ribbon to seal my spell. At Deipnon they will be released, along with the small box of damaged feathers that want…

View original post 472 more words