6 thoughts on “Top 10 Weird Ways We Deal With the Dead – from LiveScience.com

  1. That’s interesting- so many ways to get to the otherworld… I hadn’t heard of tree burial or the ‘tower of silence’ – that one looks ominous. The ones I really wouldn’t fancy are plasticination and mummification. I’m hoping for a woodland burial myself on a site where I joined in with the tree planting.

    • Yes those are all real as i have read of them before. You can just put my ashes under a tree or in a river, a little more organic, except of course the fracked propane probably used at the crematorium, lol.

  2. There are some interesting options out there! Can’t say I fancy the plastination option, but mummification is pretty cool (maybe for one of my cats – if I found a spare £8000!). Personally, as an archaeology fan – I would like to leave at least a few ‘grave goods’ behind just to give future archaeologists something to ponder :0)

    Have you ever come across the Ghanian Fantasy Coffins? They are amazing figurative coffins that have been popular in parts of Ghana since the 50’s, people can choose to get buried in anything from gigantic pink fish, coke bottles or mobile phones! It seems to be a very exhuberant funeral tradition. I found some pix on this site:http://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/photo.day.php?ID=52081 – Enjoy!

    • Well i guess you could be buried with a CD of stories from your blog. That would give them something to talk about, lol. Yea I have seen pictures of those bizarre coffins they make in Ghana. I guess if you are buried in one that looks like a cell phone maybe God will “pick you up” lol. Maybe the Tibetan community in the UK or US should pick out some place for sky burials. Can’t you see the paperwork and news crews for that one!

      • Similar to the debate raging about Hindu funeral pyres being allowed in the UK, I imagine. Newcastle City Council refused to allow one in 2006 (in principal – the man wasn’t dead yet, just planning ahead!) but the decision was reversed by the court of appeal. I think they settled on not having it out doors (which is a shame – an outdoor funeral pyre would be a great send off – but I imagine there would be environmental concerns especially if it became popular).

Comments are closed.