“A Tree Says….” – by Hermann Hesse

I found this picture today on a Tumblr site (multiple sources) and then this quote from Hermann Hess, one of my favorite writers, today and wanted to share it:

tumblr_mxghgc9f9H1rc7gxqo1_400

“A tree says: My strength is trust. I know nothing about my fathers, I know nothing about the thousand children that every year spring out of me. I live out the secret of my seed to the very end, and I care for nothing else. I trust that God is in me. I trust that my labor is holy. Out of this trust I live.
”Hermann Hesse

 

11 thoughts on ““A Tree Says….” – by Hermann Hesse

    • When I read his Siddhartha in college I felt Christianity slip off me like the skin of a snake. I learned to listen to my “inner voice” instead of an external religious authority. After that i read almost everything he had written. Glad you enjoyed this quote.

  1. I think it is the inner voice in all of us that connects us to the all.. however we choose to see it. If we would just pay it more attention..

  2. Many people have recommended Herman Hesse to me but must admit that up to now I have only ever read a few extracts and snippets. I need to rectify that.

    • I read him years ago, and like i said in a comment before i read “Siddhartha” i was a dyed in the wool Christian and within 3 days that whole systems just sloughed off of me. His other books like Steppenwolf and The Glass Bead Game and others are more complex. Enjoy.

  3. I have not read “Siddhartha,” but I read Demian in college and I remember being deeply impressed. I think it really sparked something in me that took another decade to come to fruition. I had no exposure to any kind of that thought whatsoever, but it resonated to that part of me that had lived before and been exposed to these kinds of ideas. Think its time to read Hesse further.

Comments are closed.