The Ghost Stories of Lafcadio Hearn

I love these Japanese ghost stories posted today by Lauren at her blog. Also check out the link to the old obituary of Marie Laveau, which i found Very Interesting. Did I say i also love Japanese ghost stores? Remember the movie The Grudge 1 and 2? I still think these are good illustrations of this genre. The Japanese with their Animism + Shinto + Buddhism have the most bizarre ghosts and demons of any culture. Maybe it is because their (temporary d/t reincarnation) Hells and Purgatories are like Dante and de Sade on acid. They are very visceral. Also there is a link to Sacred Texts to more of Lafcadio Hearn’s stories. Enjoy and shudder!

Blue Star Owl

I should be either reading Mr. Dalloway or preparing for an exam on critical theory focused on Dante’s Divina Commedia. Put because I’m a terrible procrastinator, I’m going to write a blog instead.

It’s October! My favorite month of the year! And as cliched as it might be, Samhain is my favorite sabbat. So let’s talk ghosts!

Or, more specifically, Lafcadio Hearn.

Born in Greece, he moved first to Ireland as a young child and then to America where he settled in Cincinnati (my old home town, Yay!).  His journalism career, where he became known for writing about sordid murders, took off in Cincinnati. He eventually moved to New Orleans (my current home town, Yay!) and started writing articles for a variety of New Orleans papers. He lived in New Orleans for nearly 10 years. While there he became known for writing about local culture. Some even claim that…

View original post 6,288 more words

2 thoughts on “The Ghost Stories of Lafcadio Hearn

    • I remember watching one long movie you posted that was a ghostly drama, but could not find the full Kwaidan at VT so thanks for this link. Sometimes I do not understand what your posts in Romanian are about. BTW the trailer on that link is broken but the full movie link does take one to what appears to be the full movie, so thanks dear.

Comments are closed.