The Faery World

Here’s another great poem by Lorna, this one about the darker aspects of journeying with the Fey, but relevant as we approach All Hallows Eve. Enjoy!

Signposts in the Mist

Ivy, Faery Lane, Church Wood, Penwortham

Stumbling blind in my mind’s bitter night
bells tolled as the unbidden hill rose.
I wept at the yew’s unearthly roots
and sang to the forbidden world.

My heart of darkness tore apart
at dread of a funeral procession,
the fear they had locked my cold corpse
grey and stiff within the glass coffin.

Their leader pale and black garbed
stunned me with beauty and terror.
I knew I must look into the glass box
or live forever stumbling through error.

I viewed my face – a floating visage,
not a body but the reflection
of a frightened girl torn in half,
trapped in ghastly predilection.

The Fairy King (for he revealed his name)
promised entrance through a hidden door
to a land and face beyond the glass
if I set aside my churlish thoughts.

I sang again by the yew at twilight.
I exchanged one spell for another
and…

View original post 69 more words

2 thoughts on “The Faery World

Comments are closed.