“Talking About Ritual Magick” – by Frater Barrabbas Tiresius – my blog pick of the day

Pagan_Symbols

I stumbled upon this Talking About Ritual Magick blog by Barrabbas Tiresius the other day and am impressed by his writings, the posts going back to 2009. He writes long well thought out posts about ritual magicke, witchcarft and other occult subjects from obvious decades of experience. To quote from the blog description and then his About page:

“This blog is used to discuss various issues and topics pertinent to ritual magick and ritual magicians as proposed by Frater Barrabbas Tiresius – author, witch and ritual magick practitioner…… (He is an)  author, witch, practitioner of ritual magick, past member of the OTO, Gnostic Bishop, founder of Order of the Gnostic Star, musician, artist, ritual ordeal craftmaster.”

I have read through about a quarter t a third of his posts and here are some of my favorites so far, though i have many more to read yet, and have subscribed to future posts:

Early Days in BTW Witchcraft – Innovation or Conservation?

What I Don’t Like About Wicca

Top Ten Grimoires – My Opinion

The picture above is from one of his posts and has no attribution. Enjoy!

9 thoughts on ““Talking About Ritual Magick” – by Frater Barrabbas Tiresius – my blog pick of the day

  1. Great site – I particularly liked the article on Wicca. I read Ronald Hutton’s ‘Ascent of the Moon’ some time ago, it was a refreshingly academic and historical take on the pagan traditions. One of the things I have always struggled with in relation to Wicca is the issue of it being/or not having a direct descent from ancient practices and some of its other historical claims (I may be a nature-loving pagan type but I can’t help being a history geek too!). I also found Tiresius view of the hierarchical structures and their limitations very interesting (looks like Wicca is prey to the same power struggles any other religion!)

    • Yes i for one have never really believed in a direct lineage transmission, except maybe in some old Italian or Basque families. But what does it matter? We are reconstructing modern witchcraft practices primarily from what we learn from history, archeology and anthropology. The Real transmission is in our minds from the old shamans of our ancestors, no matter what country or race or time they lived in.

      • Yes – it’s better not getting too hung up on having to prove a direct historical link, and I agree that country/race/time shouldn’t matter – after all human populations are rarely static, so since humans existed they have been on the move and so have their ideas. I suppose I think that keeping an eye to tradition – but not ossifying – and continuing to develop and evolve is pretty important.

        And I suppose, really, a spiritual path can ultimately be entirely independent from adopting ‘formal’ religious structure anyway…horses for course I guess!

  2. Thanks for sharing this. There’s lots of valuable info on this site. I also enjoyed the post on Wicca. Wicca has a bit of a bad name amongst Heathens and some Druids in my pagan circles. I think because there is no historical evidence for its rites or practices and mainly (and this is the sticking point for me) because it’s duotheistic. I just can’t see the many gods and goddesses of Britain let alone further afield as aspects of one God and Goddess. As soon as these terms are mentioned I wonder ‘which one?’ Aside from that I like the creativity of Wicca, the ways it provides of connecting with the cycles and working change in oneself and nature.

    • Hey Lorna – I personally do not like the word “Wicca” because it seemed to come up in the 80s as a politically correct and less dangerous term than Witchcraft, except when one pronounces it the way it should be at “Witcha”. In my research there seems to be lots of historical evidence for Witchcraft, and who is to say whether a witch or a Druid carved something? I guess from a Jungian or Tibetan Buddhist viewpoint i am duotheistic because i think that the Goddess and God and even their hermaphrodite forms of human spring from the human psyche. And then we project faces on them into our native environment, so that makes me a bit of a pantheist also i guess. You wouldn’t see a native of Easter Island worshiping the snow giants, lol. Yes i see, especially in Europe, the fights between pagans and Druids and witches, but pay little attention to them. My gods are in Nature and reflect the mountains and streams and rivers near me. To me whatever “grain” you bake with, you still end up with delicious nutritious “bread”.

Comments are closed.