First Aid Kit – “Wolf” – Music Video

I found this video at Lauren’s A Practical Owl in a Wiccan World blog post today. It is by a group called First Aid Kit and this link is to their website with lots of music and video links there too. I find the video and song to be beautiful and confusing and a little disturbing all at the same time. Even when i downloaded the lyrics, which are below the video, i still do not truly understand its meaning though it seems to be a prayer for recovery from some trauma and for help from the God/ess. And if anyone has any feedback of what the song means please feel free to comment. Enjoy!

Postscript – If you read Lauren’s comment below it explains the story behind the video, which is pretty intense.

First Aid Kit Wolf Lyrics

Songwriters: S�DERBERG, KLARA MARIA/S�DERBERG, JOHANNA KAJSA

Wolf-mother, where you been?
You look so worn, so thin
You’re a taker, devils-maker
Let me hear you sing, hey-ya hey-ya

Wolf-father, at the door
You don’t smile anymore
You’re a drifter, shape-shifter
Let me see you run, hey-ya hey-ya

Holy light over the night
Oh, keep the spirit strong
Watch it grow, child of war
Oh, keep holdin’ on

When I run through the deep dark forest long
After this begun
Where the sun would set,
The trees were dead,
And the rivers were none.
And I hope for a trace
To lead me back home from this place
But there was no sound there was only me, and my disgrace

(Hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey) x2

Wolf-mother, where you been?
You look so worn, so thin
You’re a taker, devils-maker
Let me hear you sing, hey-ya hey-ya

Wolf-father, at the door
You don’t smile anymore
You’re a drifter, shape-shifter
Let me see you run, hey-ya hey-ya

Wayward winds, a voice that sings
Of a forgotten land
See it fall, child of war
Oh, lend a mending hand

When I run through the deep dark forest long
After this begun
Where the sun would set,
The trees were dead,
And the rivers were none.
And I hope for a trace
To lead me back home from this place
But there was no sound there was only me, and my disgrace

(Hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey, hey) x2

4 thoughts on “First Aid Kit – “Wolf” – Music Video

  1. I don’t pretend to know for sure what it is supposed to mean but I like the fact that it is a bit ambiguous and open to interpretation. My own interpretation would be that it is a lament for the environment and perhaps the natural/pagan wisdom of the past after such things have been lost. Either way it is a great song and video and I will check out their site for more of their music. Good find!

    • Yea i don’t know if it is personal or environmental, but disturbing in praying to the wolf gods and then them and a symbol of the goddess being burned at the end, but the singers survive. Thanks for yr feedback.

  2. I found this explanation for the song:

    This ballad was extracted from Hemliga bok i den stora mörka skogen (The Secret Book of the Great Dark Forest), a 359 parchment pages rare volume presently displayed in the Nordic Museum in Djurgården and believed to date back from the mid 16th century. According to the Swedish mythology, several wolves entered into an agreement with the underground creature Vittra to seduce humans into venturing through the great forest at night by singing strange songs. The few human who followed the wolves into the darkness got lost in vast expanse of swamps where they had to confront their own past, and for some of them, their disgrace, while Vittra, the underground creature, slowly crawled out to meet each of them.

    I don’t know how true it is…but certainly interesting and something to chew on.

Comments are closed.