Blessed Mahashivaratri – the Great Night of Shiva

shiva_parvati_pradosha-bela

Parvati worshiping Shiva Lingum and Shiva

I knew Mahashivaratri, the Great Night of Shiva, is on a day before the new moon in either February or March and was thinking it was last month but it is actually today and tonight, March 10th 2013. The confusion is from the floating lunar calendar it is based on.

At the Huffington Post Religion blog, which i think is even better than the CNN Religion blog, they published an article called A Theological Reflection on Shiva on the Occasion of Mahashivaratri  by Anantanand Rambachand. The article is more on the Light side of Shiva, but that is part of his aspect too, and there is a great slide show of images at the bottom of the page.

On a personal note, even though i am a Witch, i still consider the more primal forms of Shiva like Pashupati or Lord Lakulash as the lord of the animals to be the same for me as Kernunnos in the old European pantheons.

And here above and below are some of my favorite images of Shiva, all of which are from the www and I do not know the artist’s names to give their attribution.

Om Namah Shivayah! (you are supposed to chant this all night).

shiva_mandala

sshiva (1)

Shiva 4 water pots

Lord Lakulish jyortilinga

Lord Lakulish Jyortilinga – my Lineage of Shaivism

Painting by Yogi Amrit Desai

6 thoughts on “Blessed Mahashivaratri – the Great Night of Shiva

  1. Just by reading it, there’s a singsong in my head. I have heard this mantra before… If only I remembered where! Thanks for sharing :)

    • I did not realize he painted it, but i was his student and lived in his PA ashram back in the late 1970s. I was able to receive initiation and shaktipat into his lineage from Lord Lakulash, a blessing indeed. I just put his credit under that painting.

Comments are closed.