Lupercalia is also to Honor our God Faunus

Faunus_jpg-for-web

I saw at RavynStar’s Journeying to the Goddess blog her post for Happy Lupercalia, which runs from February 13th to 15th depending on which ancient temple you worshipped in. To quote from her site:

“In Roman mythology, Lupercus is a god sometimes identified with the Roman god Faunus, who is the Roman equivalent of the Greek god Pan.  Lupercus is the god of shepherds. His festival, celebrated on the anniversary of the founding of his temple on February 15, was called the Lupercalia.”

Well I did not now that Faunus, who is the God of our Coven of the Catta was celebrated at Lupercalia. How surprised and pleased I am! Though I am sure our original late High Priest Merlin aka Dr Frederick LaMotte Santee, who was a Greek and Latin classicist well knew that. Thank you RavynStar.

Pan_and_Selene_by_Dianae

Pan and Selene by Dianae

from Oath Bound Secrets blog

So you can read most about this at her link, which also has more links, and I searched for some images to put in here that were old and not copyrighted. But I did find some beautiful copyrighted images at The Faunus Shrine.

So enjoy the info and pics, and Happy Lupercalia and Festival of Faunus ! And may I always have one particular attribute of Faunus, and I am not talking about the hairy legs or hooved feet ;)

images