Ravi Shankar lives on in the music of his daughter Anoushka Shankar

1355286835266I am sure all of us who are old enough remember and love and the gentle personality and musical master of the sitar Ravi Shankar who passed away at a ripe old age of 92 and apparently still clear in his mind. I grew up in the 70s with Ravi and the Beatles and especially loved George Harrison and John Lennon. When I was a long haired hippie in college I even bought a simple one stringed Tambura which I strummed while chanting mantras, something I am sure drove my college roommate who was a hockey player nuts, lol. Of course a little LSD might have helped with the music propelling me into the stratosphere.

Yesterday Metal Gaia posted on his blog RIP Ravi Shankar – The Lauded Godfather of World Music which is good to go to for some great videos of Ravi playing his apsaric music.

What I am going to share today is his student, disciple and daughter Anoushka Shankar who is an accomplished musician in her own right. She play traditional sitar but also adds her own world music flair to it, including Gypsy flamingo, and you can find lots of her works on VT. I chose to post these two because they show the tight intuitive interaction of the sitar, tambura and tabla players, like they are of one mind, dreaming the same dream, drawing pictures in the same sand on the shifting shoreline of the ever changing ocean of sound.

The first one is Pancham Se Gara which is disabled from embedding, so just follow the name link. And the second one is Your Eyes which is full of her fire i have been able to embed below. Enjoy!