Ole Uncle Al in Cahoots with Ole Uncle Gerald

aleister and leilahPerdurabo and Leilah

I am sure many of you have read many books and web pages regarding the possible Aleister Crowley Thelemic origin of a lot of Gerald Gardner’s Witchcraft system. I recently found a good post on the Oath Bound Secrets blog, which is well worth going through all of it, specifically her writing on A New and Greater Pagan Cult. (btw i tried to comment on her blog informing her i was re-blogging her using both gmail and wordpress and neither one worked) Besides her article there is also a good post by Aaron Leitch called Thelemic Origins of Wicca.

As a practicing third degree High Priest of the Coven of the Catta and a second degree in the OTO, upon comparing the texts, I do think Crowey did help Gardner write a lot of his liturgy. I do the Gnostic Mass on my own and can see the similarities, and with Masonry, Freemasonry, Theosophy, native paganism, and there are many similarities with the Catholic Mass also, though they stole it from us in antiquity. After that most of the rest of the writings in modern witchcraft was written by Doreen Valiente. Since modern “Wicca” is in my opinion a reconstruction I have no problem with whomever wrote these rituals and how they were combined, because thanks to all of them we have the standard rituals we have today.

AC 5Hmmm, what shall I do with this nice wand?