Witchy Blog Award

Hey I want to thank the Medieval Witch Project for nominating me for the Witchy Blog Award which was started by the people at Aysyn’s Corner blog where once you are nominated you can go here to participate. Here is a clip from their blog of what this is about:

Today is a very special day. Not only is it Samhain, the most important Sabbat on the Wiccan Wheel of the year, but it is also the unveiling of a project Cassandra and I have been working on for a couple of months. Over the past weeks, we have both been graced with several blogging awards, but we couldn’t help but notice that none of the awards floating around were Wiccan in nature. And so, the idea was born to create an award specifically for Wiccans/Pagans/Witches.

Thus the purpose of this award is to bring positive recognition to those bloggers who share their experiences on the less-traveled path, whether in the form of a journal or by standing up for themselves and others. Our award logo was a collaborate endeavor made with love that we are both very proud of. So without any further ado, onward to the details of the newest award to find its way to the blogsphere!

The Rules:

  • Post the award logo within your blog post
  • Thank the blogger who passed the award to you
  • Answer the seven questions below
  • Nominate five Wiccan/Pagan bloggers (If you don’t know five other Wiccan bloggers, nominate as many as you can)
  • Notify your nominees of their pending award
  • Give a short description of the blog/blogger and why you nominated them
  • Stop by Ayslyn’s Corner and Book of Shadows to add your name to the list of bloggers awarded
  • You may customize the questions as long as they are still Wiccan- and Pagan-related

Seven Questions (and my answers):

How did you “discover” Wicca/witchcraft?

I was practicing western forms of magicke and found an ad in the old Circle Network News for a Coven about a hundred miles northeast of here and met Lady Phoebe of the Coven of the Catta back in 1981 and the rest is history.

Do you grow herbs?

I grow a few herbs mostly to make incenses, drying them into smudge sticks or just flakes to burn over charcoal. Luckily I have two herbalist friends who supply my other needs. But I am not much of a kitchen witch.

Are you “in the broom closet”? If not, share your coming out experience.

Yes I have always been out at work as much as I could, not flamboyant, just giving people the facts about what “Wicca” is. And my siblings know.

What tradition do you follow?

I guess nowadays they call it the BTW. My late teacher was initiated around 1967 by Sybil Leek of the New Forest in England and SE France. And the late Dr Frederick LaMotte Santee carried initiations from Covens in England, Germany, Italy and North Africa. I started my training in 1981 and our small coven continues to this day.

Do you consider yourself a witch, Wiccan or Pagan (or maybe something else?)

I know “Wicca” has some historical meaning, but consider the term a 1980s politically correct word so as to not scare people. I am a Witch and practice Witchcraft.

How much of witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life?

Witchcraft fits in just fine in my daily life, and I practice other systems too. I am blessed to live in the woods so it is easy to be a Witch all the time.

Do you have a familiar? If you do, tell us how you meet him/her and how s/he takes part in your practice (if at all).

I have two black cats who have more acute senses than I do, but do not consider them familiars per se. I do work with a handful of elemental egregores.

You will find a new tab above for the award. If you have received the award, please submit the form no that page and I shall add your name to the list!

The first nominees for the Witchy Blog Award from Ayslyn’s Corner are as follows! Congrats to each one of you!

Aysyn’s Awarded Bloggers (as of 6 November 2012)

Since many of the Witch blogs I follow are already awarded I just wish to add a couple here:

A Practical Owl in a Wiccan World – She lives in New Orleans and is learning the Blue Star Tradition from her mate.

American Folkloric Witchcraft – There’s a ton of good information on witchcraft at this blog.

Moon Camel Bazaar formerly The House of Ellegua – She’s a kitchen witch for sure and has products for sale and practices mostly Spiritism with a Santeria flavor.

Thicket of a Witch – He writes a lot of insightful posts and knows how to make his own tools and raises a pagan family.

The Voice Magica – Another good witch priest working with his family, and a personal friend.

Witches Journey – Norse and Slavic Witchcraft written from a personal viewpoint.

The Witch of Forest Grove – Ever dark and always educational in practical witchery.

I will have to notify these people in the next few days to see if they want to participate in the award, and I apologize if i did not describe your traditions correctly as most people are a jambalaya of paths for sure. I know this award is kinda light hearted and fun, butI love all the new links I have found from reading the various award postings. My blog is also about other subjects, but if you click on the Witchcraft category you will find tune your reading. Thank You!

4 thoughts on “Witchy Blog Award

Comments are closed.