The Fey in the Woods Around Me

I saw on the Karmapolice blog a video called The Fairy Faith (in 6 parts, see below) and it got me thinking about the Fey and other local earth based spirits I have worked with over the decades. I am blessed to live up against one of the Appalachian mountains along a beautiful stream on about an acre of property that has no one around except one nice quiet neighbor. He goes by his middle name but his first named is actually Loyal and he is a Mason, so he is OK with me.

When I moved here 9 years ago the sacredness of the land soon became apparent to me, or maybe it is just the Witch in me that makes it so. Below you will see some pictures and descriptions of spots I have felt to be spaces of the fey near me.

I do not refer to these entities as fey but as spirits of the land. I am not particularly psychic and rarely “see” spirits, but as times I can feel them, and often the feeling is just the awe of beauty of a certain spot. Alternately some spots just feel bad, especially if they have been polluted by the hands of man. And some places are just physically dangerous, like the high water, and that is easy to feel viscerally.

My theory is that such spirits appear in the overlapping bubbles of my consciousness of them and of the earth energies reaching out to communicate with me. I consider the face and form I put on them as egregores of a sort. Sometimes the manifestation is more from my mind, but often it is pushing from the land and earth itself. I think in my case here it was the land welcoming someone who it knew would take care of it as best I could. Others who have the sight tell me the Indian spirits come down from the mountain to be here. I felt and almost saw one before at the Chief Stone listed below. It was a man with a deer head and I can still see him to this day. And I could see the old man in the cave under the stone when I looked in my vision meditating there. And I feel the Indian spirit of this mountain at times is visiting the 1935 era white cabin next to my house and I have a little altar over there for him. I also feel and sometimes hear voices in the stream behind the house, and protect that those are the voices of the Naginis of the water, and I make offerings to them and prayers to them of flowers and pretty rocks and even silver at times.

Regarding other egregores there are the spirits in the statues and stones and altars around the house, but those were mostly evoked like calling on a Watchtower Angel to manifest. They are not of the land as much as from the higher Self and mind, from God so to speak.

Out across the stream I had a large old oak which a friend who knows his stuff estimated to be around 300 years or more of age. It was barely hanging on with life in the top branches and was hollow, but still solid. Where one lower branch had fallen off a long time ago the knot in the tree formed the head of a bear, no imagination needed. So I called that tree the Bear Oak and considered it to be the God tree of the property. Two years ago the gypsy moths finally ate the last of the live growth and it stood solid for awhile until the heavy rains of last summer finally loosened it up enough that it fell with a crash one night. It was beautiful in death as in life. I was depressed when the old oak tree fell but then felt happy with all its progeny growing up around it. So now I have other fairly old oaks, and a tulip poplar and some large white pines that view for the God tree title.

Also across the stream is another hollow beech tree that looks like the Goddess herself elegantly posed along the bank. She looks good with a candle in the base for sure.

I have a bunch of hornbeam trees growing up one stream bed, and they do not seem to get very big, but this one seemed the Daddy tree of them all. I love the hard wood, which used to be used to make axe handles, and they have an almost 90* angle to most of the branches, and bark looks like muscle almost. I have made some nice walking sticks from some of these saplings.

The stream, called a run here, is very beautiful as it falls down rock shade strata. Usually it is low and calm, but since it drains about 25 square miles of mountain it can come up fast and high, and luckily go down almost as fast. I worship the Nagas and Naginis of the stream for their beauty and for their kindness in not flooding my house.

I have a pagoda out there with a naga and mermaid on it to honour them too.

Here is a morning faerie spider web, shining in the sunlight coming over the mountain through the bamboo.

Here is an old broken statue I found in my late uncle’s woods, a perfect White Goddess by the outside tree stump altar and standing stones.

About a half mile up stream on my relative’s property is a nice pool of water that I took this pretty incredible picture of a carp in. I love the blue reflections of the sky and the ripple on the surface. This pool has some sacred potential, but the relatives kids all swim in it at holidays and disturb it way too much, but that is only a few days a year.

Here’s a picture of an Indian site called Chief Stone across the river and way up another valley. I saw a picture of it in a friend’s uncle’s old local history book, and we rediscovered it again decades ago. I doubt if many people nearby even know what it is. The story is that the last of the local Indians died there of yellow fever and they buried their chief under this stone, which was toppled in place into a small mountain spring.

Down by the river there is a stump of a tree someone carved into a being years ago. I guess they meant to carve a bear. I consider it the guardian of the river bank.

Finally I want to recommend what I think is the best book on the Fey I have read, called Through the Faerie Glass – a Look at the Realm of Unseen and Enchanted Beings by Kenny Klein.

As the leaves have all mostly fallen, especially after the hurricane, I can feel Autumn creeping into Winter, and await the beauty of the snow on the grey land to dress her up a bit. Except for my health, I am blessed. Blessed Be.

Here’s Part 1 of The Fairy Faith, which is a beautifully filmed documentary and I hope you can get through the Scottish brogue and Irish lilt.

8 thoughts on “The Fey in the Woods Around Me

  1. Thanks for sharing the photos of your surroundings. You are lucky to live in such a wonderful area.

    Sad news about the oak, I recall that they live for three hundred years and take three hundred years to die as well.

    I enjoyed the fairy faith video, particularly liked what was said about Faery as the inbetween realm where poets and artists can also dwell. My connection to the Otherworld drives most of my poetry in one way or another.

    • Yes i am blessed to live here for sure. I still have a highway not too far away i can hear at times, but the back of the house with the stream and mountain is wonderful, my sanity so to speak. Did you check out the Land of the Fae website referred to in this earlier post? https://blausternschlonge.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/recommended-blog-land-of-the-fae/ What visions he writes are his own UPG of course, but i think what he does and his photography are worth going through the whole site as i did. Enjoy and blessings dear.

      • Yes, I came across it when it looking for other people who connect with Gwyn and came across the post about Castell Dinas Bran. There’s alot of good blogs on the e blogger sites that are difficult to follow as you can’t follow them through WordPress. This one doesn’t even have a follow by e-mail so I don’t remember to revisit.

        • Good, glad you found it. You can subscribe to RSS feeds to your email, but that’s a PIA so i just have a Bookmark for all the Blogger blogs and go through them once a week. I have blogs i follow on my main page, but the limit is 50. Its lovely here with temps in the 60sF and all the trees budding and the grape hyacinths just flowered with lots of trout lilies coming up in the woods. BB

  2. You are truly lucky to live where you do, it is breathtakingly beautiful. Thank you for sharing it with us, even if it can only be done through a series of images.

    • Yes i am truly blessed here, especially with the sound of the running stream, except of course when the stream comes up roaring and the bears tear down the bird feeders, lol. BTW thanks for posting my blog on yours, will comment on that post more there.

  3. Beautiful Trees and Blog, Bright Blessings my friend :D

    • Bright and warmer blessings to you too my friend. Next weekend at Candlemas / Imbolc we will see the flicker of the candle of Persephone the Goddess of Nature as she begins her return, no her herself, just a glimmer of her candle of Hope. BB. Shawnus

Comments are closed.