The Gospel According to Obama – from CNN’s Belief Blog

I usually do not post anything political, but I enjoy reading the various articles in CNN’s Belief Blog, especially this recent post The Gospel According to Obama by CNN writer John Blake who below is quoting author Stephen Mansfield:

“Mansfield called Obama’s boyhood a “religious swirl.  He was exposed to Catholicism, Islam, and strains of Hinduism and Buddhism while growing up in Indonesia during the 1960s.

“In our household, the Bible, the Koran and the Bhagavad Gita sat on the shelf alongside books of Greek and Norse and African mythology,” Obama said in Mansfield’s book. “On Easter or Christmas Day, my mother might drag me to church, just as she dragged me to the Buddhist temple, the Chinese New Year celebration, the Shinto shrine, and ancient Hawaiian burial sites.”

I know some people in the US and around the world are sometimes confused by his religious beliefs, and this article puts some of the facts straight and gives various opinions from the liberal left to the fundamentalist right, and more importantly from his own words and actions. Click on the link above for the full article. Enjoy.