Dark and Light Poetry by Christina Rossetti

I posted a Christina Rossetti poem before, and post it again here. She was of the Pre-Raphaelite genre and time, sister of the marvelous painter Dante Gabriel Rossetti, and wrote some dark poetry i would almost call Gothic Victorian, and some light poetry related to her being an Ango-Catholic later in life.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are some links to her life and poetry

Victorian Web – Christina Rossetti

Project Gutenberg – Christina Rossetti

Here is one of her poems:

Remember

Remember me when I am gone away,

  Gone far away into the silent land;

  When you can no more hold me by the hand,

Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay.

Remember me when no more, day by day,

  You tell me of our future that you planned:

  Only remember me; you understand

It will be late to counsel then or pray.

Yet if you should forget me for a while

  And afterwards remember, do not grieve:

  For if the darkness and corruption leave

  A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,

Better by far you should forget and smile

  Than that you should remember and be sad.

I also like this Sonnet by William Shakespeare

That time of year thou mayst in me behold
When yellow leaves, or none, or few, do hang
Upon those boughs which shake against the cold,
Bare ruin’d choirs, where late the sweet birds sang.
In me thou seest the twilight of such day
As after sunset fadeth in the west,
Which by and by black night doth take away,
Death’s second self, that seals up all in rest.
In me thou see’st the glowing of such fire
That on the ashes of his youth doth lie,
As the death-bed whereon it must expire
Consumed with that which it was nourish’d by.
This thou perceivest, which makes thy love more strong,
To love that well which thou must leave ere long.