Happy 105th Birthday Dame Sybil Leek

Sybil Leek is is my witch grandmother on the Goddess side as Dr the late Frederick LaMotte Santee aka Lord Merlin  is my witch father on the God side of my lineage of the Coven of the Catta. Dame Sybil taught and transmitted her lineages to my direct teacher, the late Lady Phoebe Athene Nimue back in the 1960s in the north Appalachians of Pennsylvania. I am the High Priest of that lineage which also contains several lineages through the afore mentioned Dr Santee, but that is for another post. The Catta Coven remains alive and well along the string of the Appalachians even to this day after almost 50 years in the States after starting in the New Forest area of England and before that the Gorge du Loup in SE France.

Some biographies say Dame Sybil was born in 1917 or 1922, so if the former as was printed in her obituary then this is her 105th birthday. Sybil Leek was one of the first witches who came out of the closet after the anti-witchcraft laws were struck down in England. She was very flamboyant and a prolific writer. The first two pictures posted here link to articles about her if you wish to know more.I cannot remember where i found these newspaper clippings, but credit is due to whomever preserved and posted them.

Blessed Be. Shawnus Merlin Belarion 3rd* CoC.

5 thoughts on “Happy 105th Birthday Dame Sybil Leek

  1. Thank you for sharing these wonderful pictures and articles ! Sybil Leek was an amazing Lady , High Priestess , and a true Daughter of The Goddess. May her memory and legacy live on.

  2. Thanks for your tribute to Sybil. I’ve been a huge, huge fan of Sybil since the ’70s. I was also close friends with Sybil’s last initiate and nurse, Christine Jones, and she gave me a copy of Sybil’s funeral card and taught me Sybil’s magic. (It does give the 1917 birthdate, incidentally.) If you’d like a copy, I’ll send it to you. B*B, Kal

      • Done. :)

        Seems amazing that Sybil would be 105. I was 15 when she hospitalized, and I remember trying to send flowers to her room, but I was too late–a nurse told me that Sybil had been died. Christine told me that Sybil would recite Shakespeare to help alleviate pain. I remembered reading in Sybil’s column in the Globe that she did some mental trick to deal with the pain, and now I knew what it was. My own teacher, Cora Anderson, did something similar: She’d recite limericks.

Comments are closed.